The Flesh Eaters - A Minute To Pray, A Second To Die
Superior Viaduct has a habit of picking some perfect gems from the vaults for reissue and they hit the classics yet again with a reissue of The Flesh Eaters' A Minute To Pray, A Second To Die. The group, formed by Chris Desjardins,
featured a revolving lineup that hit its peak on this release with John Doe and DJ Bonebrake from X and Dave Alvin and Bill Bateman from The Blasters along with Steve Berlin from Los Lobos on Sax. The result was a record that traversed the worlds of post-punk, roots, punk and rockabilly. Its one of those records that truly captures the directions that bands at the time were feeling out in the wake of punk and at the same time its a seminal L.A. Record right up there with X's Los Angeles and The Gun Club's Fire of Love. Its scorched riot run through the streets of the city's dirtiest corners with a Beefheart soul and a musical backbone run on engine grease and sewer water. Desjardins would prove endlessly restless and following this album and the band would splinter lineups and eventually dissolve altogether with his move to form the Divine Horsemen.


Support the artist. Buy it HERE

Bookmark and Share
posted by dissensous at 6:31:00 PM


Post a Comment

<< Home