Though the sad news is that RSTB fave Afrirampo have decided to call it quits as of this past July, the bittersweet consolation is that the group has released a final album on Mogwai's Rock Action imprint. The two disc set sees the duo add some strum to their furious ball of explosive noise but its in no way a tempering of the band's sonic punch. Still flailing towards the edges of noise and clawing back through instantly catchy barbs We Are Uchu No Ko sums up the band's eight year career in a single statement. The softer moments hit harder because under all that fury it was always apparent that there beat a tender heart that was simply in love with music and performance. In many ways this album feels like a goodbye, albeit a very fond one. Maybe its just a see you later. I'm sure that both musicians will find a way to pop up somewhere in the near future and I'll be eager to see what they produce.

[MP3] Afrirampo - Miracle Lucky Girls
[MP3] Afrirampo - Yah Yah Yeah

Support the artist. Buy it: HERE
Bookmark and Share
posted by dissensous at 8:11:00 AM


Post a Comment

<< Home