Badgerlore is the mournful wail of six ravaged souls. A veritable gathering of the new noise-folk collective mind; Badgerlore features Rob Fisk of 7 yr rabbit cycle/deerhoof, Ben Chasney of Six Organs of Admittance, Tom Carter from Charlambides, Pete Swanson of Yellow Swans, RSTB stalwart Glen Donaldson of Skygreen Leopards/ Flying Canyon and Liz Harris from Grouper. The band has really begun to take shape over the last few records, the original project was mostly Chasney and Fisk and featured a heavy mixture of bells and feedback. As the numbers have grown so too has the sound. The current incarnation of Badgerlore floats in a sea of ambient drones but with a decidedly somber wail of voices and the decisive pluck of withered strings. The album's title We Are All Hopeful Farmers, We Are All Scared Rabbits would give an indication of hope versus despair but the album seems less hopeful and more like a commune with the ghosts of hope. The album is being released from the now thriving Table of the Elements subsidiary Xeric, home to the younger crowd of Table's noisemakers.

[MP3] Badgerlore -Mountain Wine
[MP3] Badgerlore -Goodnight, Sweet Rabbits
Bookmark and Share
posted by dissensous at 10:20:00 AM


Anonymous Anonymous said...

mountain wine is so nice. i love that song.

10:29 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home